New pleasures in gardening

Since picking up my old gardening routines a few weeks ago, I’ve been working at it steadily.  I had a lot of cleanup to do: weeds, weeds, more weeds, and lots of old vines growing on my fence lines that had died and gone to heaven long ago.  They are now composting, and I need to build another bin this weekend to accommodate more of them from the front yard as well.

It is steady work, and I never have to worry about being laid off or bored.  Doesn’t pay much, though.

I take a few pictures now and then, and when I get a little extra time on weekends, I’ll try to post some of them.  In this short time, the appearance of my backyard has changed, and it’s becoming my favorite hangout again.  If I could only watch the baseball playoffs out there, I’d work into the night.

It has become a stress reliever.  When I get home after my one-hour commute every weekday, I get a kiss from my wife, I give my dogs a couple of treats, and then I change into my grubby clothes and spend at least 30 minutes before cleaning up and starting dinner.  The evenings pass much more pleasantly and without the usual stress of the work week.

Besides stress relief, I have a growing sense of satisfaction and accomplishment.  Taking care of the “garden”, in a spiritual sense, always provides an abundance of good feelings, and it leaves some of the unnecessary things, like worries, behind.  There will be enough of those for tomorrow.

One thought on “New pleasures in gardening

  1. Pingback: New pleasures in gardening | Breathing | WORLD ORGANIC NEWS

Leave a Reply

